2022 Fall & Winter Program Needs

Catholic Charities has Opportunities for Everyone

If you or your organization are looking for a way to help others in the community, Catholic Charities has put together a list with many ways you can make a difference. From small donations to full-time volunteers, there is something everyone can do on this list!

  • To find out more about volunteering, donation needs, and collection drives, contact Emily Klisares at eklisares@catholiccharitiesdm.org or 515-237-5027
  • Learn more about volunteering HERE
  • To Contribute:
    • Click HERE to make a contribution online.
    • Contact Mary Acevedo macevedo@catholiccharitiesdm.org or 515-237-5064.
    • Mail checks to Catholic Charities, 601 Grand Ave., Des Moines, IA 50309.

Domestic Violence Shelter (Council Bluffs)

Contact: Sapana Sharma 712-256-2059 or ssharma@catholiccharitiesdm.org

Donations Needed:

  • Adult Coloring Books
    Colored Pencils
    Trash bags- 13 gallon
    Razors
    Conditioner
    Brushes
    Bowls
    Black leggings- all sizes(plus as well)
    T-shirts- all sizes(plus as well)
    Nonperishable food items- noodles, pasta sauce, etc.
    Diapers- only sizes 1,2,4,5,6
  • Pajama Sets (various sizes)
  • Sweat sets (various sizes)

Food Pantry

Contact: Tom Leto 515-262-7290 or tleto@catholiccharitiesdm.org

Donations Needed:

  • Toilet paper
  • Bars of soap
  • Tooth paste
  • Shampoo & Conditioner
  • Other personal care and toiletry items
  • Deodorant
  • Paper plates
  • Blankets
  • Socks
  • Hats (adult & kid sizes)
  • Gloves (adult & kid sizes)
  • Coats (adult & kid sizes)

Emergency Family Shelter

Contact: Randy Jansen 515-282-1235 or rjansen@catholiccharitiesdm.org

Donations Needed:

  • Meal Providers (contact eklisares@catholiccharitiesdm.org for list of open dates and details)
  • Bus passes
  • Protein Snacks
  • Non scented laundry powder
  • Dishwasher pods
  • Dishwasher drying agent
  • 13 gallon scented garbage bags
  • 3-4 gallon trash can liners
  • Twin XL flannel sheets
  • Twin XL mattress pads
  • Pillows
  • Toilet bowl cleaner
  • Hand soap refill bottles
  • Baby wipes
  • Men and women’s razors
  • Shaving cream
  • Conditioner
  • Tin foil
  • Coffee creamer
  • Dryer sheets

Refugee Services

To Donate Items:  donations@catholiccharitiesdm.org

To Volunteer:  volunteer@catholiccharitiesdm.org

Donations Needed:

Shower Rods

Mops

Toilet brush

Cooking Pots

New Lamps

New Light bulbs

Twin size bed sheets

Dish soap

Brooms

body wash

New Vacuum cleaners

New Rice cookers

School supplies

Back packs

Twin XL Comforters

https://smile.amazon.com/hz/charitylist/ls/ZRPZNXBAL3MV/ref=smi_ext_lnk_lcl_cl

news home